Fear.

Fear. It is the invisible object telling us we can’t do something. It’s the thing that pushes us back every time we think about moving forward. It’s the voice inside us that will forever be our darkest demons.

“Keep your eyes on the stars. And your feet on the ground” – Theodore Roosevelt

This year I have started to conquer my demons in my first two years of University I thought going out and getting drunk because I was young was fun. However, the next day after gaining trillions in weight and feeling emotional and tired with a major hangover I promised myself that would be the last time. This time last year after promising i wouldn’t quit University, i pushed through my fears and decided to finish out the year away from home. I then came up with a plan rather than doing what i was ‘supposed to do’ which was; find a placement year job, then spend another year away from home next year which is everyone expectation of me. I pushed through…

I admitted to myself which was the hardest thing I wasn’t happy and was done getting drunk every weekend just to drown my sorrows in unhappiness. I found a University at home, found a part-time job at a coffee shop (not the best job) but it will do whilst I finish out University. The ironic things is i don’t even like coffee, but i can make your flat white, latte or an Americano a million times a day haha.

Now my life is so different and never how I planned. I am in my final semester ever of University, I’m getting good grades, i’m happy… I always felt the mellow sadness i felt last year was just how life is meant to be? For every person that ever feels that way trust me it isn’t!

I’m also getting rid of the weight, going to the gym regularly this year I’m already 8 pounds down (WOOOO!). Don’t get me wrong going out and getting drunk with my friends is still fun, but I don’t do it because i should do anymore i do it because i want too.

After this semester I plan to spend my summer travelling and then who knows… But it doesn’t scare me anymore because life is too short to let fear rule us.

One thought on “Fear.

Leave a Reply

